Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Minnesota Lawyer honors some of profession’s best

Minnesota Lawyer//December 17, 2021

Minnesota Lawyer honors some of profession’s best

Minnesota Lawyer//December 17, 2021

With humility and great pleasure, Minnesota Lawyer announces the 2021 Attorneys of the Year. Our selections encompass the wide variety of practices and issues that make Minnesota’s legal profession vibrant. Please plan to join us Thursday, Feb. 17, at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis in downtown Minneapolis as we recognize these remarkable Attorneys of the Year.


3M N95 Mask Seizure Litigation

Eva Mendelsohn, Kevin Rhodes, Colette Durst and Cheryl Hamilton of 3M; and Sybil Dunlop, Holley Horrell, Nicholas Scheiner, Kevin Zhao, Anna Tobin, Faris Rashid and Amran Farah of Greene Espel


Bair Hugger MDL Plaintiffs

Genevieve Zimmerman of Meshbesher & Spence; Jake Zimmerman of The Zimmerman Firm; and Mike Sacchet, Megan Odom, Leslie O’Leary of Ciresi Conlin.


Brown, Lee, and Young vs Reese Pfeiffer and United States vs Pfeiffer

Rebecca Stillman, Anne Robertson and Justin Perl of Mid Minnesota Legal Aid. Bahram Samie and Ann Bildtsen of the Department of Justice


The Hall Law Team    

Michael Hall III, Mara Brust, Mike Hall Sr. and Kate Hockin of Hall Law


Minor Does v. The Hills Youth and Family Services

Randy Knutson, Tim Lessmanof Knutson Casey; Rich Ruohonen of TSR Injury Law; and Josh Peck of Jeff Anderson & Associates.


Mohamed Noor appellate team

Thomas Plunkett of the Law office of Thomas Plunkett; Caitlinrose Fisher and Matt Forsgren of Forsgren Fisher; and Peter Wold and Aaron Morrison of Wold Morrison Law


N.H. v. Anoka Hennepin School District

Jess Braverman and Christy L Hall of Gender Justice; Teresa Nelson and David McKinney of ACLU Minnesota; and Andrew Davis and Timothy Griffin, of Stinson


Protecting Minnesotans from Medicaid Fraud, State v. Remona Lysa Brown        

Assistant Attorney General Nicholas Wanka and Assistant Attorney General Kristi Nielsen of the Office of the Attorney General


Protecting Tenants as Consumers, State v. Steven Meldahl

Assistant Attorney General Katherine Kelly, Assistant Attorneys General Eric Maloney, Caitlin Micko and Adam Welle of the Office of the Attorney General


ResCap Liquidating Trust Litigation Team

Donald Heeman, Randi Winter and Jessica Nelson of Spencer Fane and Laurie Quinn of Wells Fargo


RightCHOICE Managed Care, Inc. et al v. Hospital Partners, Inc. Case Team

Jeff Gleason, Munir Meghjee, Jamie Kurtz, Nathaniel Moore, Jason Pfeiffer, Haynes Hansen and Jaime Wing of Robins Kaplan


Shefa v. Attorney General Keith Ellison, et al.

Scott M. Flaherty of Taft, Stettinius & Hollister; and Peter J. Farrell, Jason Marisam of the Office of the Attorney General


University of Minnesota Law School Clemency Project   

Professor JaneAnne Murray, Director


Patrick Arenz

Robins Kaplan


Alain Baudry

Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr


Mai Moua

Mai N. Moua Law Office


Kaarin Nelson Schaffer

Conard Nelson Schaffer


Melissa Nilsson

Henson Efron


Matthew Pelikan



Paul D.  Peterson

Harper & Peterson


Eric Rice

Law Office of Eric A. Rice


Christopher Sailors

SailorsAllen Law


Erin Sindberg Porter

Jones Day


Jeffrey Storms

Newmark Storms Dworak


Aaron Van Oort

Faegre Drinker


Outstanding Service to the Profession

Beth Bertelson

Bertelson Law Office


Derek Chauvin Prosecution

Attorney General Keith Ellison, Matt Frank and Erin Eldridge of the Office of the Attorney General; Jerry Blackwell of Blackwell Burke; Steve Schleicher of Maslon; Lola Velazquez-Aguilu of Medtronic and Josh Larson of the Hennepin County Attorney’s Office


Rita Coyle DeMeules

Minnesota Supreme Court


Dyan Ebert

Quinlivan & Hughes


David Herr



Abigail Cerra

Minneapolis Police Conduct Oversight Commission


Mark Myhra

Boston Scientific Corporation


Eric Nelson




Court J. Anderson and Benjamin J. Hamborg

Henson Efron


Tim Barnett and Ryan Schildkraut

Winthrop & Weinstine


Kathleen Flynn Peterson and Robert J. King Jr.

Ciresi Conlin


Dan Guerrero and Perry Moriearty

Meshbesher & Spence and University of Minnesota Law School


Brooke Holmes and Randall Knutson

Knutson Casey


Jack Rice and Willow Anderson

Jack Rice Defense and Willow Anderson Law


Like this article? Gain access to all of our great content with a month-to-month subscription. Start your subscription.

Top News

See All Top News

Legal calendar

Click here to see upcoming Minnesota events

Expert Testimony

See All Expert Testimony