Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Recent News
Home / All News / Bush Foundation announces 2021 fellows
The 2021 Bush Fellows
The 2021 Bush Fellows (Submitted photos: Bush Foundation)

Bush Foundation announces 2021 fellows

The Bush Foundation announced Tuesday its 2021 Bush Fellows.

Twenty-four individuals from Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and 23 Native nations that share the same geography were chosen because of their roles as leaders of change in their communities, according to a news release from the foundation.

It’s one of the largest fellowships of its kind in the U.S., with $100,000 awards given to recipients over 12-24 months. Fellows can use funds for educational and learning experiences that help them develop skills and relationships, allowing them to foster broad change in their communities and region, the release said.

“We believe in investing in people who can address challenges today and who are driven to grow their ability to have even greater impact in the future,” Bush Foundation Vice President of Grantmaking Anita Patel said in the release. “We see past Bush Fellows at the forefront of solving our region’s most critical issues, and we are excited to see the impact these new 2021 Fellows will have in the coming years.”

Nearly 540 people submitted applications to join this year’s cohort. A committee of Bush Fellow alumni selected quarterfinalists, who received one-on-one mentoring sessions with alums. Semi-finalists then shared further information about their vision and plan with foundation staff, with finalists completing interviews with a selection committee made up of community leaders, the release said.

The 2021 Bush Fellows are:

 Patricia Acevedo Fuentes of Rapid City, South Dakota

 Kahin Adam of St. Cloud

 E.G. Bailey of Minneapolis

 John Lee Clark of St. Paul

 Antonio Espinosa of Maplewood

 Sandra Gabriela Filardo of Eden Prairie

 Dr. Rachel Renee Hardeman of Golden Valley

 Peter Hill of Pine Ridge, South Dakota

 Salma Hussein of Brooklyn Park

 Guled Ibrahim of St. Louis Park

 Nathan Caleb Johnson of Minneapolis

 Naomi Ko of Savage

 Wizipan Little Elk of Mission, South Dakota

 Kimimila Locke of Wakpala, South Dakota

 Brian Lozenski of Mounds View

 Michelle Tran Maryns of Minneapolis

 Natalie Nicholson of Bemidji

 Dziwe Willard Ntaba of Minneapolis

 Funlola Otukoya of Minneapolis

 Courtney Schaff of Fargo, North Dakota

 Jodi Rave Spotted Bear of Twin Buttes, North Dakota

 Justin Terrell of Richfield

 Mai Thor of Oak Park Heights

 Michael Jon Westerhaus of Minneapolis


Leave a Reply