Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Recent News
Home / All News / Minnesota Lawyer names 2018 Attorneys of the Year

Minnesota Lawyer names 2018 Attorneys of the Year

It’s that most wonderful time of the year — the announcement of the Minnesota Lawyer Attorneys of the Year and the special category of Outstanding Service to the Profession. We thank the members of our panel who selected the honorees from a host of nominations and gave close attention to each one. They were Erik Hansen, Judge Jeffrey Bryan, John Dragseth, Liz Reppe, Celeste Culbert, Kent Gernander and John Dornick.

We have a number of groups this year that we will identify by the name of their cases: Anthony Promvongsa v. Joe Joswiak by Nilan Johnson Lewis and the ACLU-MN; Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis Bankruptcy by Briggs and Morgan, Maslon, Manty & Associates, Buckley & Jensen, DeWitt Ross & Stevens, Stinson Leonard Street and Jeff Anderson & Associates; and Arctic Cat Winning Teams by Fish & Richardson, Hansen Reynolds, Kutak Rock and Arctic Cat in-house counsel. The groups also included the Cruz-Guzman v. State of Minnesota case by Gray Plant Mooty, the Douglas Tyrone Armstrong Death Penalty Case by Maslon, and the Starkey Laboratories Fraud Trial by the Office of the U.S. Attorney.

Two teams were honored: Jeff Storms and Jeff Montpetit; and Matt Benda and Stephanie Haedt.

Fifteen individuals were chosen for a variety of achievements. They were John Gordon, Peter Rademacher, Ted Sampsell Jones, Casey F. Martin, Kaarin Long, William Lubov, David Jann, Geri Sjoquist, Samuel Edmunds, Adine S. Momoh, John Adkisson, Paul Godfrey, Thomas Boyd, Erick Kaardal and Rob Stefonowicz.

The panel chose seven attorneys to be noted for Outstanding Service to the Profession: They are Magistrate Judge Franklin L. Noel, Katherian D. Roe, Patrick K. Costello, Susan J. Link, Don H. Liu, Tom Johnson and Sue Stingley.

Congratulations to all the honorees and thank you to all the lawyers in Minnesota who contribute in their own ways to our profession. Please join us on Feb. 13, 2019, for the banquet where we honor our winners.

Leave a Reply