Home / Bar Buzz / Bar Buzz: 8th District judicial candidates announced

Bar Buzz: 8th District judicial candidates announced

Three finalists for a seat on the bench in the 8th Judicial District have been announced by the Commission on Judicial Selection. This vacancy will occur upon the retirement of Judge Michael J. Thompson, and will be chambered at Glenwood in Pope County.

Named is Aaron Jordan, the Stevens County Attorney and the city Attorney for Morris and all cities in Stevens County. Jordan serves on the Board of Directors and is a member of the Executive Committee for the Minnesota County Attorneys Association. He is also chair of the 16th District Ethics Committee.

Also named is Melissa Listug Klick, a flex-time attorney with Littler Mendelson P.C., practicing employment litigation. Listug Klick is the secretary/treasurer of the Minnesota State Bar Association District 16.

The third finalist is Aaron Welch, an assistant county attorney in Kandiyohi County. He is an adjunct professor at Ridgewater College and an ethics investigator for the 12th District Bar Association.

Minnesota’s 8th Judicial District consists of Big Stone, Chippewa, Grant, Kandiyohi, Lac Qui Parle, Meeker, Pope, Renville, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkins, and Yellow Medicine Counties.

Like this article? Gain access to all of our great content with a month-to-month subscription. Start your subscription for as little as $32. 

Leave a Reply