Home / Bar Buzz / Bar Buzz: Dayton appoints two new 10th District judges

Bar Buzz: Dayton appoints two new 10th District judges

On Wednesday, Gov. Mark Dayton made two new judicial appointments to Minnesota’s 10th Judicial District. New appointments include Patrick W. Flanagan and Karin L. McCarthy.

Flanagan will replace Sharon L. Hall, who served as judge from 1993 until her retirement on Dec. 31. Flanagan will chamber at Pine City in Pine County.

McCarthy will replace Judge B. William Ekstrum and will chamber at Anoka in Anoka County. Ekstrum, first appointed judge by Gov. Tim Pawlenty in 2005, retires on Jan. 31.

Flanagan is a solo practitioner at Flanagan Law Office and a part time assistant public defender in the10th Judicial District. He has handled criminal defense, family law and civil matters.

He represents indigent clients in Federal Court as part of the Federal Criminal Justice Act Panel and is a past Mower County Attorney. He earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin, La Crosse and his juris doctorate from William Mitchell College of Law.

McCarthy is an assistant county attorney in Washington County’s criminal division, where she primarily has handled felony cases.

She previously worked as a staff attorney for the Tubman legal services firm, as a Family Violence Network lawyer, and as an associate attorney at Caswell and Associates. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the College of St. Catherine and her juris doctorate from the University of Minnesota School of Law.

The 10th Judicial District covers much of the state’s west-central region. It includes Anoka, Chisago, Isanti, Kanabec, Pine, Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

Like this article? Gain access to all of our great content with a month-to-month subscription. Start your subscription for as little as $32. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *