Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Minnesota Lawyer names Attorneys of the Year

Minnesota Lawyer//November 22, 2017//

Minnesota Lawyer names Attorneys of the Year

Minnesota Lawyer//November 22, 2017//

Listen to this article

Every year Minnesota Lawyer honors the top attorneys throughout the state of Minnesota for their notable achievements. This year’s honorees are an impressive group of newcomers and veterans. We honor them at the 18th annual Attorneys of the Year award ceremony on the evening of February 7, 2018 at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Minneapolis.

Minnesota Lawyer is pleased to recognize the following Attorneys of the Year:


Gov. Dayton’s Legal Team: Sam Hanson, Scott Knudson, Scott Flaherty and Emily Peterson.

Minnesota State Legislature Legal Team: Doug Kelley, Steve Wolter, Dan Scott, Kevin Magnuson, Brett Kelley and David Herr.

Syngenta Legal Team: Lewis A. Remele, Stanford P. Hill, Casey D. Marshall, Aram V. Desteian, Jeffrey Klobucar, Daniel E. Gustafson, Karla M. Gluek, Amanda M. Williams, Eric S. Taubel, Robert K. Shelquist, Rebecca A. Peterson, Craig S. Davis, William R. Sieben, Matthew J. Barber and Alicia N. Sieben.

White Bear Lake Legal Team: Katie Crosby Lehmann, Michael V. Ciresi, Heather McElroy, Byron E. Starns, Daniel L. Scott and Richard B. Allyn.

Friedlander Legal Team: Clayton Halunen, Stephen Premo, Steven Andrew Smith, Matthew Frank and Adam Hansen.

University of Minnesota Student Legal Service Team: Mark Karon (attorney director), Linda Aaker, Barbara Becker, William Dane, Adam Elling, Chelsea Flaherty and Karmen McQuitty.

Merchant & Gould Legal Team: Rachel Clark Hughey, Emily Wessels, Chris Davis and Joe Dubis.

Surly Legal Team: Steven Andrew Smith, Matthew Frank and Brian Ranwick.

The Tenant Remedies Legal Team: Michael Cockson, Adam Nodler and Isaac Hall.


Brian Corey and Steve Ryan, Briggs and Morgan.

Mai Neng Moua, Mai N. Moua Law Office, and Linus Chan, University of Minnesota.

Chris Messerly and Elizabeth Fors, Robins Kaplan.


Kenneth Udoibok, Kenneth Ubond Udoibok.

Pete Surdo, Robins Kaplan.

Janel M. Dressen, Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie.

Lisa M. Elliott, Elliott Law Offices.

Angela Beranek Brandt, Larson King.

Patrick M. Arenz, Robins Kaplan.

Stephanie A. Ball, Fryberger, Buchanan, Smith & Frederick.

Teresa Lavoie, Ph.D., Fish & Richardson.

Kevin Riach, Fredrikson & Bryon.

Marsh Halberg, Halberg Criminal Defense.

Eric Magnuson, Robins Kaplan.

Tara C. Norgard, Carlson Caspers.

Cortney S. LeNeave, Hunegs, LeNeave & Kvas.

Andrea Niesen, Klampe Law Firm.

Dorothy Whelan, Fish & Richardson.

Karin Ciano, Karin Ciano Law.

Robert Bennett, Gaskins Bennett Birrell Schupp.

Outstanding Service to the Profession

Judge Ann Montgomery, U.S. District Court.

Judge Donovan Frank, U.S. District Court.

Judge Diana E. Murphy, 8th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals.

Judge Richard Kyle, U.S. District Court.

Cathy Haukedahl, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid.

Andrew Mohring, Ciresi Conlin LLP


Like this article? Gain access to all of our great content with a month-to-month subscription. Start your subscription for as little as $32. 

Top News

See All Top News

Legal calendar

Click here to see upcoming Minnesota events

Expert Testimony

See All Expert Testimony