Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Recent News
Home / All News / Dayton taps two new judges for 9th District

Dayton taps two new judges for 9th District

Two county attorneys have been appointed to fill a pair of district court judgeships in Minnesota’s 9th Judicial District.

Annie P. Claesson-Huseby

Annie P. Claesson-Huseby

Beltrami County Attorney Annie P. Claesson-Huseby will fill one of the two new judgeships funded by the Legislature in 2017. The appointment makes her just the second judge since 2007 to be named to a newly created district court judgeship. She will chamber at Bemidji in Beltrami County.

Shan C. Wang, who was tapped on Aug. 17 to fill a new 7th Judicial District post, was the first such appointee in a decade.

Cass County Attorney Christopher J. Strandlie, meanwhile, will replace outgoing District Judge Richard A. Zimmerman and will chamber at Brainerd in Crow Wing County.

Gov. Mark Dayton announced the appointments of Claesson-Huseby and Strandlie on Friday.

“I thank Ms. Claesson-Huseby and Mr. Strandlie for their ongoing commitment to public service,” Dayton said in a written statement. “Their extensive legal experience and records of community involvement will serve them well.”

Claesson-Huseby previously served as the county’s chief assistant and assistant county attorney. She is president of the Beltrami County Bar Association and a board member of the Legal Services of Northwest Minnesota Board.

Christopher J. Strandlie

Christopher J. Strandlie

Strandlie has worked an assistant Cass County attorney, assistant 9th Judicial District public defender and as a partner at the Kimball and Strandlie Law Office. He is a founding member of the Cass County and Leech Lake Wellness Court, has been a director of the Minnesota County Attorney’s Association Board and is a U.S. Army veteran.

The state’s 9th Judicial District comprises Aitkin, Beltrami, Cass, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Kittson, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau Counties.

More information on the Commission on Judicial Selection, as well as vacancies it is currently considering, can be found at



About Minnesota Lawyer Staff

Leave a Reply