Home / All News / Attorneys of the Year 2016
AOY 2016 logo
Click here to read the Attorneys of the Year 2016 digital edition.

Click above to read the Attorneys of the Year 2016 digital edition.

Each year, Minnesota Lawyer recognizes the best achievements in the Minnesota legal profession with the Attorneys of the Year awards. This year’s attorneys were chosen based on their leadership, involvement in major cases or other newsworthy events, excellence in corporate or transactional services, and public service.


Imran Ali – Washington County Attorney’s Office

Virginia Bell – Collaborative Community Law Initiative

Blair Buccicone – Anoka County Attorney’s Office

Edward Cassidy – Fredrikson & Byron, PA

John J. Choi* – Ramsey County

John Dornik* – Siegel Brill

Susan E. Ellingstad – Lockridge Grindal Nauen P.L.L.P.

Richard L. Hendrickson – Richard L. Hendrickson, PA

Cathryn Middlebrook – Office of the Minnesota Appellate Public Defender

Jacqueline M. Schuh – Engelmeier & Umanah, P.A.

David Schultz – Maslon LLP

Philip Sieff* – Robins Kaplan LLP

Robin Wolpert* – Minnesota State Bar Association



Culberth & Lienemann, LLP – Celeste Culberth* and Leslie Lienemann*

McEllistrem, Fargione, Landy, Rorvig & Eken, P.A. – Paul McEllistrem and Andy Rorvig

Pine County Attorney’s Office – Reese Frederickson and Michelle Skubitz

Ramsay Law Firm, PLLC – Daniel Koewler and Charles Ramsay*

TSR Injury Law – Richard Ruohonen* and Charles Slane*

United States Attorney’s Office – Julie Allyn and Steve Schleicher



Appeals Self Help Clinic

Dean Eyler

Erik Hansen

Liz Kramer

George H. Norris

Liz Reppe

Katherine Barrett Wiik

Jennifer Young


Halo Electronics Trial Team

John Dragseth

Michael Kane

William Woodford


Latino Legal Experience Team

Gerardo Alcazar

Ann M. Anaya

Bryan Browning

Judge Jeffrey M. Bryan

Judge Ann D. Montgomery

Tara C. Norgard

William J. Otteson

Nelson Peralta

Judge Peter M. Reyes*

Lola Velazquez-Aguilu


Petters Ponzi Scheme Team

Adam Ballinger

Mark Enslin

Kirstin Kanski

Douglas Kelley

Mark Larsen

James Lodoen

Michael Olafson

George Singer

Jeff Smith

Daryle Uphoff*


Reid Sagehorn Litigation Team

Robert Bennett*

Paul C. Dworak

Joe Friedberg*

Ron Rosenbaum (posthumous)


Winthrop & Weinstine’s Affordable Housing Team

Jeffrey Koerselman

John Nolde

John Stern



recognition-for-outstanding-serviceOutstanding Service to the Profession

Justice Christopher Dietzen – Minnesota Supreme Court

Loretta Frederick – Battered Women’s Justice Project

Professor Eric S. Janus – Mitchell Hamline School of Law

Lawyers Concerned For Lawyers

J. Patrick Plunkett – Larkin Hoffman

Justice Esther Tomljanovich


* designates a Circle of Excellence attorney, who has been named Attorney of the Year more than once

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *