Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Recent News
Home / Special Features / Attorneys of the Year 2013

Attorneys of the Year 2013

Click here to read the Attorneys of the Year 2013 digital edition.

Click here to read the Attorneys of the Year 2013 digital edition.

Minnesota Lawyer is very pleased to announce the 2013 Attorneys of the Year.

This year’s honorees were chosen based on their leadership in the profession, involvement in a newsworthy case, excellence in corporate or transactional service and commitment to the judicial system in Minnesota. There is a broad cross section of lawyers from small and solo firms, private practice, in-house legal departments and public service. The honorees were nominated by their peers and colleagues, clients, judges and bar groups.

We have several team awards this year. In 2007 three women founded the Infinity Project with the goal of promoting gender diversity on the U.S. Eight Circuit Court bench. Last April Jane Kelly became the second woman judge confirmed in the district.  Almost 10 lawyers from Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi represented Kraft Foods in a contract dispute with coffee giant Starbucks. Last November, Kraft won a $2.23 billion arbitrator’s award with $557 million in interest.

We also recognize a group of attorneys for a career’s worth of service and sacrifice on behalf of the justice system in Minnesota with the Outstanding Service to the Profession award. This year’s honorees are John Stuart, the State Public Defender, Ron Meshbesher, Justice Rosalie Wahl, Judge Kathleen Gearin, Ken Tilsen and David Brink, the past president of the American Bar Association.

Click the names below to read about each honoree.


The 2013 Attorneys of the Year:

Jeff Anderson — Anderson and Associates

Norman Baer — Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie

Stephen R. Baird — Winthrop & Weinstine

Dana Bartocci — Minnesota Women Lawyers

Jennifer Reedstrom Bishop — Gray Plant Mooty

Felicia J. Boyd — Barnes & Thornburg

Morgan Burns — Faegre Baker Daniels

Patrick J. Ciliberto and Todd P. Zettler — Scott County Attorney’s Office

Michael O. Freeman and Michael Richardson — Hennepin County Attorney’s Office

David A. Davenport — Winthrop & Weinstine

Robert Bennett and Jeffrey S. Storms — Gaskins Bennett Birrell Schupp

Mark Fiddler — Fiddler Law Office

Michael E. Florey — Fish & Richardson

Daniel E. Gustafson — Gustafson Gluek

Kay Nord Hunt — Lommen, Abdo, Cole, King & Stageberg

Kraft Foods trial team (Michael V. Ciresi, David Beehler, Katie Crosby Lehmann, Tom Hamlin, Mathew Korte, Melissa Goodman, Michael Reif, and William Bornstein) — Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

Jeanette Bazis, Marie Failinger, Mary Vasaly, and Lisa Brabbit — Infinity Project

Chris Madel — Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

Katherine McBride — Minnesota Supreme Court Historical Society

William L. H. Lubov and Robert Bennett — Lubov & Associates/Gaskins Bennett Birrell Schupp

MICO case team (Douglas R. Peterson, Wade Davis, Jennifer Ives, Andrew Davis, and Daniel Oberdorfer) — Leonard, Street and Deinard

Nancy A. Haas and Dale Carpenter — MN United

Charles P. Moorse — Lindquist & Vennum

David Bradley Olsen — Henson & Efron

Devan V. Padmanabhan — Winthrop & Weinstine

Tony Palumbo — Anoka County Attorney

Matthew Ralph — Dorsey & Whitney

Privacy Legal Team (Larry Fett, Jon Strauss, Kenn Fukuda, Mark Zitzewitz and Sonia Miller-Van Oort) — Sapientia Law Group

Kim Schmid — Bowman and Brooke

Susan Segal — City of Minneapolis

Hal Shillingstad — Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart

Mike Snyder — Meshbesher & Spence

Charles Spevacek — Meagher & Geer

Byron Starns — Leonard, Street and Deinard

David March and Timothy Baer — Target Corp.

Barbara Zurek — Meagher & Geer


In addition, the following are being recognized for Outstanding Service to the Profession:

David Brink — American Bar Association

Judge Kathleen Gearin — Ramsey County District Court

Ron Meshbesher — Meshbesher & Spence

John Stuart — Minnesota State Public Defender

Kenneth Tilsen — Attorney at Law (posthumous)

Justice Rosalie E. Wahl — Minnesota Supreme Court (posthumous)


2012 Attorneys of the Year: Read the special section here.
Click here to view photos from the 2012 awards presentation.

2011 Attorneys of the Year: Read the special section here.
Click here to view photos from the 2011 awards presentation.

2010 Attorneys of the Year: Read the special section here.
Click here to view photos from the 2010 awards presentation.

About admin

Leave a Reply