Minnesota Lawyer is very pleased to announce the 2012 Attorneys of the Year.

From the Editor

Minnesota Lawyer is very pleased to announce the 2012 Attorneys of the Year.

This year’s honorees come from careers in private practice, corporate law and public service and government and were chosen based on their leadership in the profession, involvement in a major or newsworthy case, excellence in corporate or transactional services and service to the judicial system in Minnesota. The honorees were nominated by their peers and colleagues, clients, bar groups and judges.

The honorees are a blend of small firm and solo practitioners and large firm attorneys in the Twin Cities and greater Minnesota.

This year we have a few team awards that recognize the work a group of attorneys did, often over several years, on behalf of their clients. The largest team award in the history of the Attorneys of the Year, recognizes the work done by more than a dozen lawyers for the Anoka-Hennepin School District. The resulting settlement in the case was heralded as a model for school districts across the country dealing with the problem of bullying in schools.

We also presented four attorneys with the Outstanding Service to the Profession honor. Marianne Short, the former managing partner at the Minneapolis law firm of Dorsey & Whitney, Supreme Court Justice Paul Anderson, Supreme Court Justice Helen Meyer and U.S. District Court Judge James Rosenbaum (ret.) were recognized for a career’s worth of dedication and commitment to the legal community in Minnesota.

Please enjoy the profiles of this year’s honorees and congratulations to the 2012 Attorneys of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *