Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Attorneys of the Year 2012 honorees announced

Minnesota Lawyer Staff//December 14, 2012

Attorneys of the Year 2012 honorees announced

Minnesota Lawyer Staff//December 14, 2012

Each year, Minnesota Lawyer recognizes the best achievements in the Minnesota legal profession with the Attorneys of the Year awards.

This year’s attorneys were chosen based on their leadership, involvement in major cases or other newsworthy events, excellence in corporate or transactional services and public service.

Among the honorees is the case team that worked for six years to win workers’ compensation coverage for the teachers who were a part of the shooting at the Red Lake Senior High School in 2005. The attorneys who worked to settle the Anoka-Hennepin School District bullying lawsuit were also selected for working together to find a resolution that now serves as a national model for schools around the country.

The nominations were submitted by judges, bar groups, clients and fellow attorneys. The honorees come from diverse practice groups including criminal law, litigation, public service, intellectual property and in-house legal departments.

This year there were also six repeat Attorneys of the Year. Four additional attorneys were recognized for a lifetime of dedication and commitment to the Minnesota legal community with the Outstanding Service to the Profession award.

The newspaper will host an awards program Feb. 21 at the Hyatt Regency Minneapolis to recognize the 2012 Attorneys of the Year and will publish a special section highlighting the honorees.

The 2012 Attorneys of the Year:

Anoka-Hennepin School District Bullying Case, Jeanette Bazis and Mark L. Johnson, Greene Espel; Paul Cady, Anoka Hennepin School District; Michael Ponto, Christopher Dolan, Martin Chester and Zachary Stephenson, Faegre Baker Daniels; Celeste E. Culberth and Leslie Lienemann Culberth & Lienemann; Greg Brooker and Ana Voss, U. S. Attorney’s Office

Jonathan Schmidt and Tara Reese Duginske, Briggs and Morgan

Mark L Rodgers and Michael L. Garbow, Rodgers & Garbow

Christine Funk and Lauri M. Traub, Minnesota State Public Defender

James Behrenbrinker, Attorney at Law (Previous honoree in 2010)

Thomas H. BoydWinthrop & Weinstine (Previous honoree in 2006)

John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney

Carrie Daniel Russell, Minnesota Women Lawyers, Graco Inc.

Alan C. Eidsness, Henson & Efron

Robert F. Enger, Minnesota State Bar Association

James Fleming, Maschka, Riedy, and Ries Law Firm

Edward F. Fox, Bassford Remele

Randall  E. Kahnke, Faegre Baker Daniels

James Eric Lindell, Lindell & Lavoie

Cecilie Loidolt, Meagher & Geer

Chris Madel, Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi (Previous honoree in 2011)

Karen McDaniel, Merchant & Gould

Robert A. McLeod, Lindquist & Vennum

Rick Macpherson, Minnesota Disability Law Center

Major Lyndsey M. Olson, Minnesota National Guard

Brad Pedersen, Patterson, Thuente

William Z. Pentelovitch, Maslon Edelman Borman & Brand

Michael PignatoDorsey & Whitney

David PotterOppenheimer Wolff & Donnelly

Peter M. Reyes Jr., Cargill (Previous honoree in 2001)

Daniel R. Shulman, Gray Plant Mooty

Jonathan Singer, Fish & Richardson (Previous honoree in 2007 and 2009)

Mark SolheimLarson King

Andrew Sorensen, Ecolab

George W. SouleBowman and Brooke (Previous honoree in 1999)

K. Craig Wildfang, Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi

Robin Wolpert, 3M

Outstanding Service to the Profession:

Justice Paul Anderson, Minnesota Supreme Court

(Retired Justice) Helen Meyer, William Mitchell College of law

James M. Rosenbaum, JAMS, United States District Judge (Ret.)

Marianne Short, Dorsey & Whitney, UnitedHealth Group as of Jan. 1

Top News

See All Top News

Legal calendar

Click here to see upcoming Minnesota events

Expert Testimony

See All Expert Testimony