Home / Legal News / 8th District judges appointed
Jennifer Fischer and Rodney Hanson were appointed to the bench.

8th District judges appointed

Jennifer K. Fischer and Rodney C. Hanson have been appointed as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District.  Fischer will replace the Honorable Kathryn N. Smith and Mr. Hanson will replacethe Honorable Jon Stafsholt, who both retired earlier this year. . Fischer will be chambered at Willmar in Kandiyohi County while Hanson will be chambered at Glenwood in Pope County.

Fischer is the Kandiyohi County Attorney, where she prosecutes crimes and serves as the legal advisor to the County Board of Commissioners. She previously was a partner at Jones & Fischer, P.A., and, prior to that, served as an assistant public defender for the Eighth Judicial District. Fischer earned her B.S. from St. Cloud State University and her J.D. with honors from the William Mitchell College of Law.

Hanson is a partner with Anderson, Larson, Hanson & Saunders P.L.L.P., where he practices primarily in civil litigation. He has maintained a local practice in Willmar since 1985 and is a qualified neutral and arbitrator for the American Arbitration Association.  Hanson earned his B.A. with honors from Concordia College and his J.D. from the William Mitchell College of Law.

One comment

  1. Judge Stafsholt did great things for veterans, so it is unfortunate to see him retired now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *