Home / Legal News / Dayton appoints 2 to Hennepin County Bench
James Moore and Kristin Siegesmund fill vacancies created by retirments

Dayton appoints 2 to Hennepin County Bench

Gov. Mark Dayton announced the appointments of James Moore and Kristin Siegesmund as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. Moore and Siegesmund will be replacing the Honorable David M. Duffy and the Honorable Lucy A. Wieland, who retired earlier this year. Both seats will be chambered at Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

James Moore

Moore currently serves as the litigation manager of the civil division for the City of Minneapolis, where he is responsible for assigning and supervising all litigation for the city. He previously worked as an assistant city Attorney for the civil divisions of both Minneapolis and Bloomington. Mr. Moore received his B.A. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1981, and his J.D. with honors from Hamline University School of Law in 1985.

Additionally, Mr. Moore is actively involved with the Minnesota State Bar Association’s Civic Education Committee.

Kristin Siegesmund

Siegesmund works with Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid, where she serves as a managing attorney for multiple divisions; most recently with the Consumer and Tax Units and previously the Housing and Housing Discrimination units. She previously worked as a staff attorney with the Minnesota Disability Law Center and was a commercial litigator at Faegre Baker Daniels. Siegesmund received her B.A. with honors from Brown University in 1977 and her J.D. with honors from the University of Michigan Law School in 1980.

Siegesmund has taught numerous courses at William Mitchell College of Law.

Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District consists of Hennepin County


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *