Don't Miss
Home / MinnLawyer Blog / DFL picks committee chairs at legislature
2 Prosecutors and a criminal defense lawyer among the picks

DFL picks committee chairs at legislature

Rep. John Lesch

The DFL majorities picked their committee chairs for the upcoming legislative session.

Of note to those in the legal profession:

Sen. Ron Latz will chair the Judiciary Committee. Latz is a criminal defense and employment attorney in St. Louis Park and a former prosecutor. He earned his J.D. from Harvard Law School.

Michael Paymar will chair the Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee in the House. That body has budget oversight over the Department of Correction, Department of Public Safety, Department of Human Rights, the courts and crime victim programs. Paymar chaired that committee the last time the DFL had the majority in St. Paul before the 2010 elections.

He is the executive vice president at Paymar Communications.

Debra Hilstrom will chair the Judiciary Finance and Policy Committee. She is a graduate of the William Mitchell College of Law and received the school’s Student Award of Merit at graduation. She works as an assistant Anoka County Attorney.

John Lesch will chair the Civil Law Committee. He earned his J.D. form Hamline University School of Law and works as a prosecutor with the St. Paul City Attorney’s Office.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top