Don't Miss
Home / MinnLawyer Blog / Council on Crime and Justice makes Equal Justice Awards
The council recognized the Robins firm, Prof. Richard Frase, and Lori Swenson of Hennepin County community corrections.

Council on Crime and Justice makes Equal Justice Awards

The Council on Crime and Justice has awarded its 2012 Equal Justice Awards in the categories of advocacy, research and service.

The advocacy award went to Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi of Minneapolis.  “The firm has provided critical support to criminal justice reform through pro bono legal assistance to the Council on Crime and Justice and other community partners on several cases at the Minnesota Court of Appeals and Supreme Court,” the council’s news release states.

The research award went to Professor Richard Frase, Benjamin N. Berger Professor of Criminal Law at the University of Minnesota Law School.  Frase’s scholarship examines Minnesota and other state sentencing guidelines, punishment and proportionality theories, criminal procedure in the U.S. and abroad, and comparison of sentencing law and practice in U.S. states and in other nations. He is recognized particularly for his work identifying and accounting for racial disparities in the criminal justice system, the council’s news release states.

The service award went to Lori Swenson, Hennepin County Department of Community Correction and Rehabilitation. Swenson is the Acting Corrections Unit Supervisor in Mental Health Court, and is recognized for her service and leadership in addressing the needs of individuals served by Hennepin County Community Corrections who are suffering from mental illness, says the news release.

The awards will be made on Dec. 6 at the council’s 55th Anniversary Celebration from 6 to 9 p.m. at The Woman’s Club of Minneapolis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Scroll To Top