Home / Legal News / Gov. appoints two to Eighth District bench
The new judges are Stephanie Beckman and Thomas Van Hon.

Gov. appoints two to Eighth District bench

Today, Governor Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Stephanie L. Beckman and Thomas W. Van Hon as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Eighth Judicial District.

Beckman will replace the Honorable Steven E. Drange who retired earlier this year. Van Hon will replace the Honorable Paul A. Nelson who also retired earlier this year.  Beckman’s seat will be chambered in Litchfield in Meeker County and Van Hon’s seat will be chambered in Montevideo in Chippewa County.

Beckman serves as the Meeker County Attorney where she is responsible for the civil work and criminal prosecutions.  She previously served as Assistant Meeker County Attorney and worked as an Assistant Stearns County Attorney within their civil division. Beckman received a B.A., magna cum laude, from Hamline University in Saint Paul in 1999, and a J.D. from William Mitchell College of Law in Saint Paul in 2003.

Van Hon maintains a general law practice where he assists individuals and businesses with civil matters and criminal defense. He also serves as the city attorney for Fairfax, and is an Assistant Public Defender representing indigent persons in Redwood and Brown Counties for the Minnesota Board of Public Defense. Previously, Van Hon was an associate attorney with the Rowley Law Office and was an Assistant County Attorney for Redwood County. He received a B.S. from Iowa State University in Ames in 1981, and a J.D. and M.A. from University of Iowa College of Law/University of Iowa Graduate College in Iowa City in 1984.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *