Home / Legal News / Dayton appoints two judges in Fourth District
Brasel and Carruthers fill void left by Larson and Leung

Dayton appoints two judges in Fourth District

Gov. Mark Dayton announced the appointment of Ms. Nancy Brasel and Mr. Philip Carruthers as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District. Brasel and Mr. Carruthers will be replacing the Honorable Gary R. Larson, who retired, and the Honorable Tony Leung, who resigned.

In a release,  Dayton said, “Both Ms. Brasel and Mr. Carruthers will make outstanding judges. They bring to the bench real-world experience, as well as significant ties to the community. I commend them both for their service to the people of Minnesota.”

Ms. Brasel is currently an Assistant U.S. Attorney at the U.S. Attorney’s Office in the District of Minnesota. She serves in the Fraud and Public Corruption Section, handling cases related to economic crimes, including wire fraud, mail fraud, conspiracy, and tax evasion. Ms. Brasel also served in the OCDETF and Violent Crimes Section, where she handled narcotics and firearms cases, including the prosecution of gang activity. She was a partner at Greene Espel PLLP in Minneapolis from 2002 to 2008, having joined the firm in 1999, and was an associate attorney at Leonard, Street and Deinard from 1997 to 1999.

Mr. Carruthers is an attorney with the Ramsey County Attorney’s Office and is the Director of the Civil Division, where he oversees all civil litigation involving the county and represents a number of county departments, including Budgeting & Accounting, the Charter Commission, and Elections. He previously headed up the Prosecution Division of the County Attorney’s Office, where he started the Elder Abuse Unit and helped organize the Joint Domestic Abuse Prosecution Unit. Before joining the Ramsey County Attorney’s office, he was in private practice in Minneapolis for 21 years, practicing in civil litigation, criminal defense and as a prosecutor for several cities in western Hennepin County.

Additionally, Mr. Carruthers was a Minnesota state representative and served as speaker of the House from 1997 to 1998.

Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District covers Hennepin county.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *